Terra: A Trainwreck Express build with Stancor A-3801

Express, Liverpool, Rocket, Dirty Little Monster, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Cliff Schecht

Terra: A Trainwreck Express build with Stancor A-3801

Post by Cliff Schecht »

This is my first post so I should probably introduce myself a little first. I'm a senior electrical engineering student and work for PAiA (hence the large banner ;)). I learned of this forum after googling around for info about some of the different output transformers that I have including two A-3801's, which is what actually led me here. I decided to sign up for the forums after being impressed with the wealth of information about Trainwreck's as well as the friendly atmosphere.

I've only been actually building tube amps for about 6 months now but finding a large stock of great Stancor and other transformers, chokes, cases and a few power transformers has made this an affordable and surprisingly relaxing hobby.

My first two builds were of my own design, a 2x6AU6/807 SE 20W amplifier and a 6AV6/2x6AK6 (in parallel) SE 2W amp. The 6AK6 amplifier also uses a 130-250V boost SMPS that I designed for use on mini/submini amplifiers (plans coming soon!). Both of these amps have their ups and downs and have been great learning experiences. But I've quickly found that the 807 SE amplifiers just can't hold up in a jam session against a drummer, bass player, PA, etc.. Even with 16-18W from the 807 through 4x12 cab, the only time I can really fit in with the mix is to put on some distortion.