New build, Express a bit harsh

Express, Liverpool, Rocket, Dirty Little Monster, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Smokebreak

New build, Express a bit harsh

Post by Smokebreak »

I finished up an Express build with parts I had on hand, which was an organ chassis and trannies. I used the schematic in the "express documents" section. I'm an inexperienced builder but really wanted to put one together, as I've read so much about them lately.

The amp sounds really good, really touch-sensitive, but it gets a little harsh up top as I dig in.

I'm thinking that the harshness is a result of my PT putting around 440VDC on the plates of 6V6. Does anyone have experience with this? If so, I'll do the zener trick, but am looking for some guidance as to where my plates should be, as I've seen a lot of numbers around. 400V? 375V?
Thanks- J
Reeltarded

Re: New build, Express a bit harsh

Post by Reeltarded »

Seems like 370-395v is a good place and 440 does get more than a little nasty. What tubes are those? JJs 6v6s is supposed to be 'good' to over 450v but I don't think that is where they sound good probably from hearing a bunch of amps on the interwebs.
Signatures have a 255 character limit that I could abuse, but I am not Cecil B. DeMille.
Smokebreak

Post by Smokebreak »

Ok thanks! That's what I was hoping. I just cranked it for the first time and it indeed gets quite harsh. I have JJs in now, but I started with my cheap "tester tubes" yesterday to get it going. They are Shugs that seem to be able to take beating!
For the Zener trick, I just want to make sure I'm doing this right... Say 3 or 4 14V 5W zeners between PT CT and ground?
Reeltarded

Post by Reeltarded »

Hmm wait for a brain to show up and give a more informed answer. I have never used a zener dump but I think dropping around 10% is a good place to shoot for, if not just a hair more. In my head I see you ditching maybe 4 something watts at the output.