Rocket Issue

Express, Liverpool, Rocket, Dirty Little Monster, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

strato17

Rocket Issue

Post by strato17 »

Hey all,

I've been using my rocket build for almost 3 years flawlessly. However, tonight on stage, the amp suddenly cut out. I through the rocket on standby, and switched heads.

I turned the rocket back on, and tested it. The amp worked again for 3 songs or so, then cut out again. There wasn't a pop or fadeout, just abrupt silence. Does anyone have an idea where to start?

chris
strato17

Re: Rocket Issue

Post by strato17 »

Also, it was pretty hot outside, however, far from the hottest show i have played in the past few weeks.
Mark

Post by Mark »

The 80uF capacitance after the rectifier bothers me. This is an obvious area where I'd be looking for issues. Where have you looked for issues so far?

I fixed a Princeton six months ago where the filter cap after the 5Y3 was 47uF. I seem to remember the issue was initially intermittent.

I'm in the process of building a Rocket. I'm thinking of splitting the two 40uF caps to reduce the current flow on turn on.
Yours Sincerely

Mark Abbott
martin manning

Post by martin manning »

You need to get it in its failed state so you can diagnose the problem. Maybe just leave it on for an hour or two and try playing through it every 20 minutes or so.

The 80uF reservoir cap is a shot in the dark at this point. The size of that cap is going to stress the rectifier tube some, but the problem could be anywhere.

Mark, if you split the reservoir into two smaller caps, you would have to put a resistor in between them to control the surge, and that will reduce all of the voltages. Was the problem in the Princeton the cap or the 5Y3?
Mark

Post by Mark »

Hi Martin

Thanks for your reply. Agreed the 80uF us a shot in the dark, but I think the 80uF is simply bad design, it relies on exceptional parts not the average.