Rocket Documents Discussion

Express, Liverpool, Rocket, Dirty Little Monster, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

TimDude

Rocket Documents Discussion

Post by TimDude »

Hopefully it's not taboo to comment on an old thread. I have a question regarding the bill of materials vs the schematic. I'm planning on building one of these Rockets and I was putting together an order online. I noticed on the schematic calls for capacitor-5 (C5) to be 50pF. The bill of material says 47pF 630V is fine. But the part that the bill of material links to on Digikey's website is 47uF 630V. Now I'm still a novice, so maybe I'm missing something. 47pF is vastly different from 47uF, right? I'm also looking at Ceriatone's schematic and they also call for a 47pF capacitor for C5. Lastly, do I legit need a 630V capacitor? There's pretty much only one of those for sale on all of the Internet and it's at Mouser.
Here is the link to that part: https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Mu ... v%252B4%3D
Or will a simple silver mica 500V capacitor work like this one here: https://www.amplifiedparts.com/products ... ver-mica-5
Or will one of these big buck $$$ silver mica 500V capacitors here work: https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Co ... %252BUs%3D

Thanks for your help and thanks for putting this forum together. You folks have a lot of good info here.
pompeiisneaks
Site Admin

Re: Rocket Documents Discussion

Post by pompeiisneaks »

I've moved this comment to it's own thread, so as to keep discussion in the discussion section, away from the files themselves.

See: https://ampgarage.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... 684#p54661 for the files thread this question refers to.