Hello - Newbie here .. Help with Francesca Parts Please

Express, Liverpool, Rocket, Dirty Little Monster, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

martins3325

Hello - Newbie here .. Help with Francesca Parts Please

Post by martins3325 »

Hi, Ive been reading here for a while. Just officially registered. Some may recognize my ID from the gear page. I own some high end amps including a Komet Constellation, KF50LTD--just sold--, Clark Beaufort, '55 Deluxe, and a 63 AC30 Supertwin head. Anyway..I always wanted an Express but simply could never afford the real thing, and after seeing Francesca I decided to get a Two Rock Kit and give it a try. I admit I dont know crap about electronics really but I can solder and can mimic what I see, so my plan is to copy as exactly as possible Francesca and let a real amp expert tweek it when its all together. So far im assembling the parts and have tracked down most..but there a few I can not quite make out what they are.
I have a few questions:
1: What wattage resistors should I use? Looks like 1/2w in Francesca..can resistor wattage rating effect tone..would using 1w resistors be detrimental to the end result tone?
2: Would someone be so kind as to tell me what type and value these parts are? --
Thanks..I know im in over my head as far as final assembly goes ..but if I can get the best parts and copy what I see to a Tee then I shouldnt be far off having a pretty close copy once I get a true amp expert to teek it all up. And It might be fun trying to get there. Thanks in advance! Martin
Mark

Re: Hello - Newbie here .. Help with Francesca Parts Please

Post by Mark »

Dear Martin

Use half watt and one watt carbon film resistors.

The resistors that you asked about are Vitreous Enamel 5W Wirewound Resistors. Ken has used the typical sandbox (square white) 5 watt wire wound resistors in the first Liverpool amp Ginger.

Regarding the build take it slow and think it all through and you should be okay. When in doubt ask.