Noob wants to build his first Wreck. Request guidance.

Express, Liverpool, Rocket, Dirty Little Monster, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Matthews Guitars

Noob wants to build his first Wreck. Request guidance.

Post by Matthews Guitars »

Greetings to the readers of this subforum.

Let me start out by introducing myself. I go under Matthews Guitars, and my first name is Chris.
I am an experienced electronics technician (with experience spanning 35+ years) with familiarity with most kinds of electronics. You name it, I've probably worked on it or at least something that is in the same category. Audio, video, RF, digital, mixed signal, test equipment repair and calibration, a bit of everything and a lot more of some of it.

I'm no stranger to working in tube guitar amps, either. I'm not the MOST experienced tube amp technician you're going to find but I'm competent.

I am an actively working amplifier technician. My specialty is in finding problems other technicians may miss. Troubleshooting is really where my passion is. I love to find the problem and defeat it. That's what gives me satisfaction at the workbench more than anything else.

In the past few months I've rebuilt three Fender amps, a '63 Tremolux, a '67 Vibrolux, and a mighty 400 PS. The 400 PS was incomplete with major parts of the circuits missing, the other two were almost gutted chassis with very little still in them. I've rebuilt and restored a few JMP era Marshalls. Some of those rebuilds were on the level of making a whole new amp from previously used parts.

But I've never built an all new amp. And certainly not a Trainwreck clone.

For tonal reasons and also for the relative simplicity of the circuit, I've decided that this is what I'll build. An Express, more or less.

Not trying for cosmetic accuracy. Not trying even to duplicate the exact original component types tha Ken Fischer would have used, which apparently could get expensive anyway.