Laser Engraving TW faceplates-A Photo Guide!

Express, Liverpool, Rocket, Dirty Little Monster, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Lonely Raven

Laser Engraving TW faceplates-A Photo Guide!

Post by Lonely Raven »

I've had several people ask how this "laser" (Mr Evil quotes) thing works. Since I was making a faceplate for my first customer, I figured I'd take photos along the way so you all can see how this neat device works.

Honestly, this is more about the laser and less about the faceplates. The plates are just the cool end result!

A little background first (pull up a chair, I'm rather verbose). I'm a total newb when it comes to amp building. I was a woodworker for a custom hardwood stair shop in a previous life, but I'm an IT Manager now (fancy way of saying computer fixer with experience). I think I'm a pretty smart guy and I've done a lot of stuff in between the two "careers". Building amps, even if just following a layout like paint by numbers, just seemed like a cool, fun, and geeky thing to do. It might even save me some money in the long run (after I break even on tools, parts, shipping, time etc)

So after having built a few Champs, servicing a few dozen BF and SF Fenders, I figured I wanted to build myself an amp I otherwise couldn't afford as a birthday gift to myself. After some research, and having heard talk of Trainwrecks since the early 90's, I figured I'd give a Ceriatone kit a try. I scored some transformers used from these forums, got the chassis and bag of parts from Nik and Ceriatone (I asked for *completely* unassembled...I like the hands on work), but no faceplate or cab. I figured I'd get around to making a cab for myself...if I ever buy a new router, setup a shop somewhere, etc.