Can you guys hear a difference between solid core wire?

Express, Liverpool, Rocket, Dirty Little Monster, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

gnugear

Can you guys hear a difference between solid core wire?

Post by gnugear »

... compared to stranded?

I'm just wondering if it really matters that much. I'm using stranded teflon in my current build.
UR12

Re: Can you guys hear a difference between solid core wire?

Post by UR12 »

I would have to say no. I have built amps with both kinds of wire for years and the only reason I perfer one over the other os that solid wire holds it's shap better for bends. While I'm not an engineer. I would think that any conductor capable of carrying the current and voltage would do so the same way. We should send some of this stuff to Myth Busters. :lol:
Allynmey
Site Admin

Post by Allynmey »

I love solid core Teflon. It strips better than stranded, it stays where you put it, and you can put more than one wire in the damn preamp socket lugs :lol:

Better sounding? who knows.

Allynmey
paulruby

Post by paulruby »

Wire type does not affect tone. It's purely personal preference for achieving the wire palcement you want in the amp when building.

Teflon insulation is the greatest thing since sliced bread. It doesn't melt or burn when hit by a soldering iron, which is a huge help for DIY amps. I'm totally spoiled now that I can jam my soldering iron anywhere without concern.
UR12

Post by UR12 »

paulruby wrote: I'm totally spoiled now that I can jam my soldering iron anywhere without concern.
Now if they would just make teflon Cliff Jacks........... :D 8)
Funkalicousgroove

Post by Funkalicousgroove »

This is built with Stranded, it stays in place just fine and doesn't fight back like the solid stuff, I like both but I had cool colors in stranded! BTW Her name is Mariska and I finished her Last night!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Owner/Solder Jockey Bludotone Amp Works