New 100W Hiwatt build questions

Vox and Hiwatt Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

andresound

New 100W Hiwatt build questions

Post by andresound »

Hi Guys,
I am new to the Hiwatt forum section and to this hobby. I have built 2 TW amps (express & rocket), and 1 Dumble ODS (2nd gen). All these amps sound great!! Now that I have had my counselling for this newfound addiction (LOL), I am tempted to try a Hiwatt DR 103/504 type build.
I have purchased an old LANEY 100w supergroup with PARTRIDGE transformers. The amp is functional, but sounds shit! Would this Transformer set work for a DR103 build?

Any suggestions/advice would be most welcome.
If it sounds good, it is good! Trust your ears
dcribbs1412

Re: New 100W Hiwatt build questions

Post by dcribbs1412 »

Not to sound discouraging
Those amps are almost getting vintage Marshall status
If its in decent shape maybe try to get the Laney working properly first.
I hear its a very nice amp when working properly.
Just a suggestion

D
andresound

Post by andresound »

Thanks D. Where can I get a schematic? Also thought about using the OT for a Dumble 100w build. The PT voltages are too high!
dcribbs1412

Post by dcribbs1412 »

Hi andresound
no schem but some good info here
http://vintageamps.com/plexiboard/viewt ... 10&t=68681
I believe the Laney you have is very close if not a copy of a Marshall circuit.
JMP or Plexi.
If its in good cosmetic condition suggest taking a little time
going through the power supply and checking/replacing caps
maybe some tubes and see if you can get her to sing.
post some pics if possible some pics of a 71 here
http://www.amparchives.com/album/Laney/ ... index.html
came across these schems hope this helps

D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
rp

Post by rp »

dcribbs1412 wrote:Not to sound discouraging. Those amps are almost getting vintage Marshall status