Ods combo

Discussion of Speakers, Cabinets and Cabinet Building

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

erwin_ve

Ods combo

Post by erwin_ve »

There is a first for everything. After building 10 amps and done none of the cabinetry myself, this is the first.
Bought a new car, oldest daughter going to university, wife and other daughter want holiday, this is going to be a low budget cab.
Wood is engineered timber(pine I think).
The sides are going to be glued and screwed.
Sides are almost ready.

Any suggestions? I'm a newbie on this, you can't offend my woodskills because I basically got none.

Erwin
Attachments
WP_20190722_16_22_34_Pro.jpg
WP_20190722_16_11_04_Pro.jpg
Colossal

Re: Ods combo

Post by Colossal »

Well, you are off to a good start so far!
stelligan

Post by stelligan »

Advice. Watch your fingers!!!
Looks good. Tolex cures all sorts of ills.
Guy77

Post by Guy77 »

Looks great Erwin! One thing I discovered after making a bunch of cabs is that I like the edges rounded more . I use to sand the 1/2 round over by hand by that took for ever, then I got a router and that made things much easier!

Its all personal taste anyway.

Congrats on your first cab and I am sure the bug will bite and there will be many more!
Cheers!
Guy
norburybrook

Post by norburybrook »

way to go Erwin :D

as cabinet/woodworking goes, speakers/combo's are very simple 'boxes' really.

make sure you leave enough room on front baffles/rear panels etc for your tolex and grill cloth/pipping.

screwing and gluing is fine, just countersink your screws and fill then sand smooth, then route edges.

make sure you sand down the corners properly or your metal corners wont fit :D

Tolex will cover a multitude of sins as mentioned above, however it's a skill in itself is Tolexing. I'd recommend using water based glue it's a lot easier to apply and is quite forgiving.

:D
erwin_ve

Post by erwin_ve »

Thanks guys for all info!