Seeking wiring advice for series out from a cabinet with speakers wired in parallel

Discussion of Speakers, Cabinets and Cabinet Building

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

professormudd

Seeking wiring advice for series out from a cabinet with speakers wired in parallel

Post by professormudd »

Greetings,

I am a very novice tinkerer, and I would really appreciate some guidance.

I built 2 speaker cabinets. The first is a 2 x 10" (16 ohm each) wired in parallel for an 8 ohm load. The second is a 1 x 12" 8 ohm.

What I would like to achieve is the option of connecting one cabinet to the other to create a 16 ohm load OR 4 ohm load. I am fine with either using a switch or multiple jacks.

I can much more easily wrap my head around the parallel connection between the cabinets than how to run the 2 parallel 10s in series with the 12.

I have tried searching, but I have been unsuccessful in finding results that I translate to my current situation.

If anyone can provide me advice or a diagram, I would be eternally grateful.

Thanks. Mudd.
-Matt

It may very well be that the sole purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others.
sluckey

Re: Seeking wiring advice for series out from a cabinet with speakers wired in parallel

Post by sluckey »

I have a simple Y cable that will connect an amp to two cabs connected in series. Might give you some ideas.
Attachments
Y_cable.png
professormudd

Re: Seeking wiring advice for series out from a cabinet with speakers wired in parallel

Post by professormudd »

That is pretty cool. Thanks.
-Matt

It may very well be that the sole purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others.
NickC

Post by NickC »

You may find this a very useful device that solves many speaker-cab-hook-up conundrums:

https://www.radialeng.com/product/cab-link
romberg

Post by romberg »