My Two 5E3s

Discussion of Speakers, Cabinets and Cabinet Building

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

professormudd

My Two 5E3s

Post by professormudd »

This is my first and second foray into amp building. I am a software engineer by trade, but I have always wanted to understand and be able to work with and repair electronics, specifically guitar amplifiers. Before I started the first of the two 5E3s, I had barely any experience operating a soldering iron for more than a rapid/hasty repair to a jack.

Now look at me. I still don't know anything, but I did get better at soldering and I have a couple of amplifiers that sound pretty darn good.

I built two 5E3 amps, one of which I proceeded to take apart and put back together four times so far adding/removing mods and the other I plan to keep vanilla (or close to it).

I am not a woodworker by any stretch. I make more firewood than anything, but I derive a lot of pleasure operating dangerous power tools, so the trial and error is okay with me.

I wanted the cabinets to kind of match the attitude of each amp.

The purple one is a simplified Tweedle-Dee (layout from Rob Robinette's site) with a post-phase-inverter master volume, switched negative feedback, cascaded channels, and the normal channel has been converted to a high-gain lead channel. I covered it in vinyl gator skin I bought a Joann's. The cabinet houses 2 10" celestion creambacks.

The vanilla one I made the mistake of trying Minwax PolyShades which I found very unruly and I hate the outcome. I will be painting it piano black. Ultimately what I was going for was a more "dignified" or "conservative" look to match it's more traditional tone. The circuit is a vanilla with an added switched negative feedback and post phase inverter master volume. The cabinet houses a celestion G12H anniversary.