Cab recommendation for Sterling-Hiwatt Lead 30 Head

Discussion of Speakers, Cabinets and Cabinet Building

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

acurtis193

Cab recommendation for Sterling-Hiwatt Lead 30 Head

Post by acurtis193 »

I am new to amp garage, hoping the wisdom out there might help me make a cabinet choice for my newly acquired hiwatt lead 30 head. I was thinking 2x12 would be a good fit, other than that I can’t really seem to find much consensus out there on the best speaker/cab configuration. I know tone is fairly subjective, I am just hoping to hear if anyone has experience with these heads and what I can expect from different speakers.

I use fairly high gain settings right now with my blackstar Artist 30 to achieve the sound I like. Pairing that with a OCD pedal and a MXR eq. My other rig is a 68’ fender twin reverb. I load that up with various overdrives and power boosters to creat a somewhat artificial distortion. I am looking for that place in between where I don’t need to push the amp into a fuzzy muddy place, but I also don’t need to create a totally artificial sound.

Thanks for any and all advise might be out there.
Geeze

Re: Cab recommendation for Sterling-Hiwatt Lead 30 Head

Post by Geeze »

Welcome to the forum!

I don't have experience with Hiwatt amps so I'll give my usual answer that won't be quick, easy or necessarily economical.

For speakers - which to me is 70%+ the 'sound' of the cab - I recommend playing as many types as you can get your amp / guitar into. This is where it's great to have gear freak friends who have lots of equipment. The other is the speaker shoot outs - I like Rivera's - not so much as how they will sound in your space but how they sound compared to other brands / models. I found my way to Greenbacks this was as I liked the somewhat darker yet warmer tone they presented.