Another speaker thread - 10'' speakers anybody?

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Darkbluemurder

Another speaker thread - 10'' speakers anybody?

Post by Darkbluemurder »

It seems that everybody uses 12'' speakers. Does anybody use 10''s?

Background to this question: I have a late BF Bandmaster which I converted to HRM. It sits in a custom cabinet with 3x10'' Webers (2 Alnicos and 1 Ceramic). I always thought that the amp didn't sound right until I plugged it into my 1x12'' cab with the Jensen Neo. This combination sounds great - none of the buzzy fizziness of 3x10''. I am not sure whether it is the Weber 10''s - I had good experiences with other speakers from them so far.

Any recommendations for a full bodied, detailed but not raspy 10'' (Jensen Neo 10'', Eminence, Celestion, Tone Tubbies)? Styles of playing are country, blues, southern rock.

Thanks for your input,
DBM
jelle

Re: Another speaker thread - 10'' speakers anybody?

Post by jelle »

DBM,

I put the '97 schem into my '64 superreverb once which has Eminence 40 or 50 W alnico's. Not stock superreverb. HUGE sound. Buttery when cranked. If you are interested I can look up the numbers on the speakers. I also tried old stock C10Q jensen with the amp, but they were very grainy and dark.

So I have a good experience with Eminence but there must be other great ones out there too. Anyone experience with tone tubbies?

Jelle

(No virgin vintage amps were harmed doing this, the amp was already 'upgraded' with orange drops and sounds great. After the experiment, the amp was restored)
seulb-rd

Post by seulb-rd »