Number of tubes, or power?

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

greiswig

Number of tubes, or power?

Post by greiswig »

I've often heard people say that there is a girth associated with the 100W, four-tube version of the ODS that can't be duplicated in a 50W two-holer.

Is it really the number of tubes, or is it just power? IOW, would having two tubes with as much power sound as girthy as four 6L6s? Anybody made the comparison?
-g
markusw

Re: Number of tubes, or power?

Post by markusw »

Interesting question!
I'd love to know the answer myself :D
BTW, a friend wants me to to do him a layout for a ~50W power amp using 16 (!!) EL95 tubes push/pull. He's got a box of roughly 200 old Mullard EL95s from his father and wants to use them.
It most likely will take us until next winter but I will report back on the results...... :lol:
brewdude

Post by brewdude »

I am no expert. In fact I have not yet built a 4 tube amp, but I am under the impression that a factor in the difference between the sound of 4 tubes vs. 2 tubes is the fact that you have two tubes in parallel on each side of the push pull arrangement, not simply double the power. I would expect this would sound clearer and less constricted and more open sounding.

I have been wanting to build a 4x6v6 amp, but have not had the funds to allow it... yet.
Structo

Post by Structo »

I've heard it explained before but it was a bit over my head.
Something about the transconductance of the extra tubes, plus the different primary impedance.

I for one can attest to the difference in tone (and volume) going from a 2x 6L6 D'lite to a scratch built 100w ODS (4x 6L6).

With a Dumbleator to tame the volume I am really enjoying the advantages of a four output tube amp.

In reality the added expense is mainly the two extra power tubes, a quad rather than a pair.