mesa studio 22 with eq

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

jestaudio

mesa studio 22 with eq

Post by jestaudio »

Hi folks, i,m a newbie here and aftre having a good browse of the site decided you people may well be the best informed around to suggest mods to get my mesa close to a dumble tone, i,ve had a look at building one from scratch but concluded that it may be a little ambitious just at the moment
dave g

Re: mesa studio 22 with eq

Post by dave g »

jestaudio wrote: i,ve had a look at building one from scratch but concluded that it may be a little ambitious just at the moment
It would almost certainly be easier than converting a studio .22, and plus you get 2 nice clean amps rather than one hackjob :lol:
jestaudio

Post by jestaudio »

dave g wrote:
jestaudio wrote: i,ve had a look at building one from scratch but concluded that it may be a little ambitious just at the moment
It would almost certainly be easier than converting a studio .22, and plus you get 2 nice clean amps rather than one hackjob :lol:
not converting just tweaking a little bit, plus the scratch build is far more than a mere mortal living in the uk can affaord at the moment :)
bluesfendermanblues

Post by bluesfendermanblues »

Its should be possible to do some tweaks to the .22 to get it closer to a Dumble sound....but you should consider gutting the chassis. Modding the PCB will be a pain in the neck.

The .22 has the boost in front of the clean preamp and is closer to a Mark I boogie (the Santana original) than to a Dumble. Other Boogies (like the Mark II B and Mark II C) are much closer to Dumble's designs.

So leave the EQ and the PSU and gut the rest.
Diva or not? - Respect for Mr. D's work....)
Bigwan

Post by Bigwan »

jestaudio wrote:the scratch build is far more than a mere mortal living in the uk can affaord at the moment :)