First time #183 Build

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

MusicMaker

First time #183 Build

Post by MusicMaker »

Hi, first post here. I've been reading for some time and decided I would join up and document my #183 ODS 100w build.

I've been into digital electronics for years and because I like computers - I'm a computer tech. I've built digital parametric EQ kits, Haffler amp kit, rewired guitars and built computers over the years. Wave soldered boards, hand soldered components, etched my own boards, and even wire wrapped ckt boards (Ugg!) for a time.

I'm also a musician (isn't everyone?) and thought I'd like to take on a new challenge. Tubes have always interested me and I decided I'd take the plunge. I realize they are completely different than digital. But, like learning any instrument, you have to have one to learn how to play it.

I got an ODS #183 from Nik and started following the layout he provides. I've used the pictures of builds at TAG to do a proper layout.

Kind of disappointed that he doesn't use/supply Switchcraft jacks, but we'll see how long these plastic ones last. I suppose I could have sourced it all out? Maybe the next one? ;-)

I've yet to order the PT, OT, & choke. It's heavy enough without having that to contend with just yet and there's plenty to assemble beforehand.

Unpackaged and I counted up the parts. I made copies of each layout (Talbany's and Niks) and had Costco photo blow them up to 12x18 color photos for $3 each. Very good for seeing where stuff goes! Clear and precise and in color!

Some observations:

First time out I can see there would be a better way to 'assemble' the parts using an external "jig" to hold and preinstall components/wires to the switches and pots, even some of the sockets. Cramped quarters otherwise. It would be a simple task to remove from the jig and install.