Want to Dumble mod a 1964 Fender Princeton with tremolo

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

denfox

Want to Dumble mod a 1964 Fender Princeton with tremolo

Post by denfox »

I am wanting to mod a 1964 Fender Princeton with tremolo. It is in original stock condition untouched. I want to do the Ultra Phonix mod or something like it if it is possible. Does anyone have any suggestions or links to information and how to do it? I am a newbie and appreciate any assistance.
ss
Colossal

Re: Want to Dumble mod a 1964 Fender Princeton with tremolo

Post by Colossal »

Yikes, unless your amp is in terrible condition, why would want to modify an all original, untouched 1964 Princeton? Surely if it is untouched and in good working condition, its vintage value must be significant?

Not trying to rain on your parade, but...
Gibsonman63

Post by Gibsonman63 »

I have a nice clean 1976 Stratocaster. In the early 1980's I thought it would be really cool to route it out and install a humbucker in the bridge position. I still have that guitar and have put the original pickups back in it. It did not make me play like Eddie Van Halen and now my guitar is worth substantially less.

Not to pile on, but your Princeton is perfect as-is for what it is. For what that amp is worth, you can built at least two or three modded variations.