understanding the basic SSS circuit concept

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

idnotbe

understanding the basic SSS circuit concept

Post by idnotbe »

i am very new to the circuit world and seeing M Hartman's SSS schematics.
though i'm not sure that i am reading the circuit correctly, i have too much curiosity.

1. i find 2 triodes where the reverb signal and the main signal are mixed. (the yellow circil in the below schematics)
comparing to Fender Twin Reverb which has only one triode for the function, why there are 2 ??

2. Twin Reverb's signal goes to the reverb circuit after 1st gain stage -> tone stack -> 2nd gain stage.
but SSS goes to the reverb circuit before the 2nd gain stage. (1st gain -> tone stack -> split into the reverb & the main signal)
why??

3. from the player's perspective, reverb is just one of the time-based effects related to fx loop.
but in SSS, the fx loop is passive and does not use the send / return / mixing circuit. (the reverb exclusively uses the circuit)
why should the fx loop be treated independently??

4. i have the #002 layout (but not the schematics) and it has 5 pre-amp tubes.

- pre-amp 1 (12AX7)
- pre-amp 2 (12AX7)
- reverb 1 (12AX7)
- reverb 2 (12AX7)
- reverb tank driver (12AT7)
- phase inverter (12AX7) -> power amp
- power amp driver (12AT7) -> power amp

Hartman's seems to have 4 pre-amp tubes.

- pre-amp1 (1st and 2nd gain stage)
- reverb 1 (reverb send & return)
- reverb 2 (i don't know how can i call it. in between send & return)
- mixing stage

what's the difference? why one has 5 and the other has 4?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
mabruk

Re: understanding the basic SSS circuit concept

Post by mabruk »

I will try to answer in the way I better can or know.