First D-style (102) build opinions solicited & build thread:

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Raoul Duke

First D-style (102) build opinions solicited & build thread:

Post by Raoul Duke »

Hey all,
Been lurking, reading, researching, planning, and trying to figure this out for the better part of a year without bugging you all too much, lol. I’ve been using others’ build threads as my guide as well as cross-referencing the many layouts here. I try to use schems as well, but I have no formal background in electronics - so that doesn’t always work out - but sometimes it does help me.

Quick build summary:
- 50 watt 102 build using black panel Bassman iron all around
- added external bias points
- eliminated half-power switch
- made all my own boards using Martin’s excellent templates
- decided to use the Hoffman relay boards with 12v NTE relays and Martin’s suggested Hammond 166F12C trans
- got my chassis from Erwin, resistors from Jelle, and a lot of knowledge from everyone here - so thank you all!

I have a few subjective build questions that I’d like some informed opinions on if possible:

1. Does the switchable LNFB off V1 option provide a noticeable variation in tone?

2. Is putting the OD trim outside the chassis truly worthwhile?
2a. Is an OD trimmer with more range a worthwhile change as well? I’ve read here that it can be helpful when dialing in the OD.

3. When building 102 as a 50w, would I need to adjust any power supply values (resistors on the PS board etc)?

Got some pics to post and will start a build thread soon - just a little bashful about my abilities, lol.

Any help, advice, opinions, suggestions are truly appreciated!
Thanks again and regards,

Marc
Last edited by Raoul Duke on Thu Nov 16, 2023 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ijedouglas

Re: First D-style (102) build opinions solicited:

Post by ijedouglas »

Hey Marc,

Good luck on the build.