Where best to post about diff between Fender and Dumble?

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

imo1

Where best to post about diff between Fender and Dumble?

Post by imo1 »

Hey yall,

I'm an amateur builder, but a professional touring guitarist. I got into building after years of my techs trying to help me find the sound that was in my head. I'm an Austin guitar player that grew up with the Vaughns and EJ, and has a lot of years of experience of playing mostly Fender and Marshall circuits on stages and studios. I fell into the Dumble world because so many of his designs are Fender based, and unlike a lot of other builders, he wasn't just chasing high gain. I have learned a ton through this forum and its been very helpful to me, so thanks to many of you.

I've found, after building a number of Dumble based designs, that I love the general design, but for my type of playing, there are pieces of Fender sound that I really miss. In a perfect world, most players that are going for similar sounds as mine are mixing Dumble or Dumble style amps with Fender amps. There is a cool "funkiness" that just comes out of Fender amps that for bluesy players is so fundamental. The Dumble(SSS type) and a lot of the Two Rock stuff has so much more power in the low end, which is amazing, but kind of tend to be a bit clacky if you are using them by themselves, and I find in my own playing, that it makes a lot of that funky rhythm/lead playing (Hendrix/SRV) not work as well. I am always looking to grow and evolve as a player, but I have a defined style that is me as a player, and I'm really trying to find out how to build my amp in a way that brings that out, as opposed to me changing my playing to fit the amp.