down on this killing ( noise ) floor.

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

pedro

down on this killing ( noise ) floor.

Post by pedro »

Hi,

I'm not happy with the noise floor on my build - its just too much. I thought it was OK at first but comparing to my other amps its not and I need to sort it out.

Does anyone have a systematic way of going about seeking out the sources of hum and hiss using basic test equipment ??

I have an Oscilloscope and sig generator recently acquired but I'm a novice using them.

Its pretty much Hybrid A with a few value tweaks.

cheers
Pete
Funkalicousgroove

Re: down on this killing ( noise ) floor.

Post by Funkalicousgroove »

First thing to check is your preamp tubes, they can cause ALOT of noise, Next look at your ground scheme and make sure that no part of the circuit has multiple paths to ground. Next check your plate and grid leads, Plate leads should be long, grid leads should be as short as possible and the two should NEVER run paralell, if they must cross it should be at 90 degree angles. If that doesn't fix it check all of your solder joints, then all of your electrolytics.

If you rectified your fillament tap to power your relays make sure there isn't more than one ground reference, that will make alot of hum, so will using both the CT and 2 100 ohm resistors.
Owner/Solder Jockey Bludotone Amp Works
ElectronAvalanche

Post by ElectronAvalanche »

One approach to find the culprit would be this:

Take an alligator clip and ground the PI input cap (on the input side). If there is no hum after doing this, your source of noise is upstream. If you still get hum, there is noise in the PI and Power Amp.

Do you have seperate Bias pots for the Push and the Pull Output tube pair? If not, this can help you dial out the hum in the PP section.