79 Dumble Overdrive Deluxe

Dumble schematics, designs, pictures. Only members may post files here.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

RevD

79 Dumble Overdrive Deluxe

Post by RevD »

With all things Dumble here, I'm sure this has been posted at some time, but maybe buried somewhere. I ran across this and was pretty stunned by it. I'm a relative Dumble noob when it comes to thinking about building one, I've heard and admired they're sound for years although I'm not one that can tell you this is number such and such and what tonestack it has etc.
At any rate, I thought I'd post this up just cause it was a combo amp for 1 and also has reverb and trem. Any comments on its lineage and how many of these may have been built? They're saying maybe only this one? Without further ado:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9U1mrbqyEyw

Regards,

RD
bluesfendermanblues

Re: 79 Dumble Overdrive Deluxe

Post by bluesfendermanblues »

Its an oldie, which has been discussed a number of times on the forum. The amp is regarded as being a fake dumble, which has been put for sale on Ebay a number of times at unreal prices, which by the way is a fraud attempt if it is a fake.
Diva or not? - Respect for Mr. D's work....)
boldaslove6789

Post by boldaslove6789 »

If you do a search you will find an Overdrive deluxe that Funk had some pics of. The amp you see in the Youtube clip Is one of the " Explosion " era amps built in a Fender deluxe cab/chassis. To my understanding he simply modified this particular amp as opposed to a complete gut/rebuild.

The Amp in the Amps garage files also has a yellowish faceplate and a similar control layout.

............ Who knows though? This amp could be completely different.
Structo

Post by Structo »

Does sound good though. :D
Tom

Don't let that smoke out!
RevD

Post by RevD »

Thanks for the info.. Yeah I just thought it sounded good. As far as I know its not for sale, I know I wouldn't have the cake to buy it if it was. Thanks though for the info!