Layout updates and schematic, (about time)

Dumble schematics, designs, pictures. Only members may post files here.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

BobW

Layout updates and schematic, (about time)

Post by BobW »

Please critique for errors. Thanks especially to Bob-I for allowing me to use his initial VISIO drawing as a schematic baseline.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
jaysg

Re: Layout updates and schematic, (about time)

Post by jaysg »

The bias supply diode is backwards on the schematic and I believe you might want to reverse the positions of R6 & R7 so that the 100K, 1W is connnected to the secondary. B1 is on the wrong side of the Standby switch.
Last edited by jaysg on Mon Sep 18, 2006 4:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
rutledj

Post by rutledj »

I'm a noob but I don't see a link to actually view the files. What am I missing?

Thanks,
Rut
dogears

Post by dogears »

Bob,

Why not add the bypass cap switch on CL2. I like 10uf there. The V2 tube doesn't need the switch IMO.

Also, I like 500pf bypassing the CL2 220k grid resistor.

Go with the ubiquitous 270pf snubbers with this recipe. It will balance the lows.

Lastly, aside from Dumble using linear pots for the OD drive and level, I also can't imagine why anyone woudl want audio tapers there. Tried it and the range is all wrong.

;)
tictac

Post by tictac »

Personally, I like the audio tapers for the drive and level; it's easier to dial in the amount of distortion and overall volume with audio tapered pots. I think Dumble used linear pots because that's what he had on hand. Besides once you turn them up all the way they're both the same.
BobW

Post by BobW »

The bias supply diode is backwards on the schematic and I believe you might want to reverse the positions of R6 & R7 so that the 100K, 1W is connnected to the secondary. B1 is on the wrong side of the Standby switch.