RoHS compliance

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

ke7ccq

RoHS compliance

Post by ke7ccq »

Does the RoHS stuff mean small amp makers will be raising prices? Will
we kit makers/hobbyists be dragged out of our homes for using the "wrong" solder? I just read that Aiken amps is redoing his whole line
to be RoHS compliant. Is this the law now for all amp makers?
Phil_S

Re: RoHS compliance

Post by Phil_S »

IMO, it's not that big of a deal. For some, the old 60/40 solder will disappear. They will complain that the new stuff doesn't wet as nicely and is more difficult to remove. It is old dawgs not willing to learn new tricks that are forced upon them. You don't have to like it, but it's comming anyway.

I've been using 4% silver solder (Sears, Radio Shack) for a couple of years, and, as far as I can tell, it works just fine. Yes, it is a bit higher temperature compared to the old 60/40 and not quite as easy to work with. But it isn't something to jump up and down about and pout about. Besides, it keeps the vampires away.

The rest of the parts? Probably adds pennies to an amp.
Andy Le Blanc

Post by Andy Le Blanc »

Besides solder and iron its documentation and proof that your BOM is compliant.

The solder station becomes more of an investment, but if you say your ROHS
compliant you also have to demonstrate that you are, fine for a larger office,
But the one man show is gonna have to put more effort into maintaining
the compliance, or exemption, than one might like.
lazymaryamps
ckpop

Post by ckpop »

ROHS is more of a problem for the amp guys who choose to use non clomplient parts. The good news is you can sometimes catch some good deals for mouser, allied, and others when they sell off non complient parts to be replaced with ROHS standard parts.