Best sounding Fender push pull 6V6 amp?

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Cliff Schecht

Best sounding Fender push pull 6V6 amp?

Post by Cliff Schecht »

I'm no expert when it comes to Fender amps but I am aware of the different models they've made. Which Fender PP 6V6 amp is the "best" sounding amp (this is subjective of course)? I'm looking at building either a Vibrolux or a Deluxe really, although I'm leaning towards the Deluxe for simplicity reasons. Is the 5E3 supposed to be the best sounding version? Are these amps loud enough to gig with (small bars and such)? I'm doing mostly blues rock with but also need a good country twang.

I've got a lot of octals and would like to use these. How do the octal versions sound compared to the 5E3?
Cliff Schecht - Circuit P.I.
Darkbluemurder

Re: Best sounding Fender push pull 6V6 amp?

Post by Darkbluemurder »

A 5E3 would be good for blues rock but not for country twang - too much midrange and not enough clean headroom. Check out the brown Deluxes (I believe these are the 6Gxx ones) for a compromise between Tweed grit and Blackface twang.

Cheers Stephan
andrew_k

Post by andrew_k »

6G2 or 6G3. "Forgotten heroes" of the Fender lineage :lol:
tubeswell

Post by tubeswell »

For tweeds - it'd have to be the 5G9 - tweed front end, LTP inverter, fixed bias, and bias-vary trem that'll slam you into the middle of next week.

For Browns, the 6G3 - that ZZ Top sound on Blue Jeans Blues

For BF, the deluxe reverb
Cliff Schecht

Post by Cliff Schecht »

How about octal versions of these amps? I've got a good stash of 6SC7's, 6SJ7's, 6SK7's and 6SL7's that I'd like to put to use.. But I see all of those schematics have 250k plate resistors which would have more distortion. I have a modified Blues Driver that sounds frickin fantastic in front of any Fender tube amp so I'd like to have something that I could set for a good clean sound and hit that BD2 for overdrive/distortion sounds.