Planning my first amp build

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Hound Dog

Planning my first amp build

Post by Hound Dog »

Hello every one and Happy Fourth of July!

I have been thinking about my first amp build. I am looking for something basic to experiment with. I want something with a tube rectifier just because that is what I want to try. I have looked at a lot of "Champ" type circuits but feel like I would miss TMB control. The P1 circuit over at the AX84 site looks like it would be nice to try but it has no tube rectifier. I am pretty sure that I could build a power supply section that would give me the appropriate bias voltages and use it. I used to be an engineer/scientist and still remember the basics.

Here are my questions.

1. Does a tube rectifier (or lack there of) make any tonal difference?

2. For those of you that have built amps without TMB controls, did you miss them?

3. I have a rackmount electronics chassis that I plan to use as a test bed untill I have a circuit that I like then I will build a more traditional cabinet/chassis for it. Has anybody else ever tried this? It might be neat to lay it out in sections and modify each as I learn more and curisoty leads me.

Thanks
Hound Dog :)
Elcabong

Re: Planning my first amp build

Post by Elcabong »

1- A tube rectifier affects the dynamics of an amp; it makes the power supply "sag" under current demand and thus change how the amp will sound.

There is no advantage to use a tube rectifier with a Class A amp like the P1.

2- I have an 18watt tremolo head with single tone control and it does the job.

3- I do not know about this but I guess it is feasible. I would be nice to have some kind of universal power supply that could be used in different prototypes. :wink:
loverocker

Post by loverocker »

Welcome Mr Dog :)