Overhaul of 60s Italian Steelphon Conductor

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

flood

Overhaul of 60s Italian Steelphon Conductor

Post by flood »

EDIT: the first 4/5th of my post seems to have gotten chopped off entirely! i have absolutely no idea how that happened, but it can't be helped now. here's the gist of it again, or whatever i can remember:

-----------------------

back when i was a student in germany, i was bemoaning the sale of my first tube amp, a WEM/Watkins control ER15. i found this beaut on eBay really cheap - some €90 or so - and snapped it up.

what can i say, it played like a dream. it smelt kind of weird though, and at some point, the tinkerer in me simply had to open it up to see if i could mod it. it was gunked up inside, i posted this thread on "that" forum (i didn't know of TAG's existence back then, or i'd have posted it here).

http://www.thegearpage.net/board/archiv ... 99944.html

here are the pictures: http://www.flickr.com/photos/31937352@N ... 155220192/

when i saw the shape of the "dog turd" caps, i automatically assumed they were going to die on me soon due to the deformed shape. didn't think they
were just made that way. i don't think it's a great loss, though. they aren't supposed to be great caps, from what i've been told.

i found the schematic a lot later over here: http://www.igoramp.it/photogallery/ampl ... elphon.jpg

and decided to fill in the values from the boards. also, i noticed they had missed a junction at R15/C9/R45/C10, this has been rectified in my schematic. there was a 10n cap from the junction to ground on the solder side.

some questions:

1. was it a bad idea to get rid of the brown "dog turd" caps with respect to tone? particularly the large ones after the PI look deformed, i'm assuming they aren't manufactured that way? i replaced the 470nF PI coupling caps with 330nF, i doubt that's going to make a big difference in the bass area...