Any Reason To Avoid Brass For Bus Bar?

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

rp

Any Reason To Avoid Brass For Bus Bar?

Post by rp »

I've been using this for 2 decades but it's square, which is annoying, and now I must order it from afar.

http://www.tubesandmore.com/products/S-W140

I got some nice un-tinned brass rod I can use. I know Fender used a brass bar for the pots in the BFs.

Any heads-ups? Tarnish? Galvanic corrosion? Hard to solder to with a normal iron? Good to go?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by rp on Wed Sep 12, 2012 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Structo

Re: Any Reason To Avoid Brass For Bus Bar?

Post by Structo »

Here is a chart for metal conductivity.

As you can see it is 9th down on the list of metals.

To me it would seem like a way to introduce a ground loop.

Do you have any access to some large copper wire?

You can use a solid piece of copper 12 gauge wire as a bus.
Tom

Don't let that smoke out!
rp

Post by rp »

Structo wrote:Here is a chart for metal conductivity.
As you can see it is 9th down on the list of metals.
To me it would seem like a way to introduce a ground loop.
Do you have any access to some large copper wire?
You can use a solid piece of copper 12 gauge wire as a bus.
Morning Tom, pretty sure I can find solid copper though from what I've seen ECs wire houses here with stranded. Thought of this option in the past but doesn't exposed copper want to turn green and get nasty? Does it matter?

While I have your ear (fingers?) and to save us a PM: I think it was an old post of yours where you mentioned that zinc plated iron needs to be washed with a mild acid (vinegar?) before painting? Was that you? I got some window bars I had made and zinc plated that I need to paint. Does that tip hold true here? They are about 5 years old, so if it's a gassing out type thing, can I skip the wash?
Structo

Post by Structo »