18 watt clone build Hum question

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

jamme61

18 watt clone build Hum question

Post by jamme61 »

Just built this marshall 18 watt clone https://d1sjrnpi226dnf.cloudfront.net/s ... 1382030168

in the instructions it said to ground the input jacks with this special washer that mounts on the cliff jacks. I noticed i have a Hum that gets pretty loud as I turn up the volume. Does this sound like a ground loop problem and could it be those cliff jacks being grounded? I attached a picture of the build to see any other problems Thanks for any help this my first build so Im just learning this stuff.

one more thing its hard to see that the cliff jacks are grounded - I didn't have the special washer so I used the buss wire instead of the washer.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The Ballzz

Re: 18 watt clone build Hum question

Post by The Ballzz »

Looks pretty good, especially for a first build. First suspect on my list would be lead dress, particularly surrounding the heater wiring. Use a chopstick to lift, jostle and move wires around with amp humming to see if you can find which wire or wires makes the hum worse or better. Other than that, more experienced builders will likely speak up soon!
HTH,
Gene
Mark

Post by Mark »

You need to give more info. Is the hum present in both channels?

The Cliff jacks don't provide an earth so the earth contact is essential.
Yours Sincerely

Mark Abbott
jamme61

Post by jamme61 »

Ok so the cliff jacks do need to be grounded where they meet the chassis ? I did it the way the instructions say but on other Marshall's I have had, they have never been grounded there? Any way more info is that the hum is really low and not a problem until the volume is maybe at half - really loud