Big Iron or Oversized Transformer

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

idnotbe

Big Iron or Oversized Transformer

Post by idnotbe »

i am really a newbie in DIY world.

1. when someone says "big iron" or "oversized transformer" is better, is it a power transformer or a output transformer?

2. if i want 50w loudness / headroom but 100w big iron effect, there seems a few alternatives.
for ex, (1) 4 * EL34 but 50w actual output, (2) 2* EL34 with a 100w output transformer, (3) 2 * EL34 with 100w output & power transformers.
what are the pros & cons?

3. what else should i consider when implementing the mismatched transformers?
for ex, can i just order to a transformer company and say "hey, i am making a 50w but will install oversized 100w irons. give me the proper ones." ?
xtian

Re: Big Iron or Oversized Transformer

Post by xtian »

The only reason you might want an over spec'd PT is to eliminate DC supply sag. Bass players don't want sag. Some guitarists do. Are you looking for a super stiff power supply with no sag?

But still. I built a 50-watt Marshall 1987 circuit ("four holer", "plexi"). SS rectified, two EL34s, ClassicTone PT meant for two EL34s. No noticable sag. Unless, of course, if you dime the thing and play hard, which I can't, because ouch that's loud. There's no point in using a 100-watt PT in this design; you'd never know the difference.

So, before we proceed, are you barking up the right tree?

What kind of amps have you played and liked? Disliked? Hiwatt DR104 (stiff)? Tweed Deluxe (saggy)?
I build and repair tube amps. http://amps.monkeymatic.com
Bombacaototal

Post by Bombacaototal »

And for a 2x 6L6, 50W amp which oversized OT would you recommend?
100w twin? Or something on the 75W like a musicman?

I used a Vibroverb 40w OT on my 25W amp and loved the result! So I am thinking about replicating this on the 50W
ChopSauce

Post by ChopSauce »

On a related matter: