Bugera Trirec infinum - need help with repair.

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

chikov

Bugera Trirec infinum - need help with repair.

Post by chikov »

I am not a professional amp repair tech, but I know a lot about tube amps and I built several of them. I’ve met a few musicians here in Houston and they once in a while ask me to help them to fix their amps. I ran into Bugera Trirec infinum 100watt 3 channel valve (!) amplifier. It only works thru 1st (clean) channel but the other 2 you could barely hear the signal. I searched for schematics and none are available ( was able to find something similar but just a somewhat predesassor of this one). After looking inside I almost gave up right away, but I like a challenge and I like to use projects like these to learn new things. Here is the problem. On the pin 8 of both 5U4 tubes I get 455VDC, on the plates of all four of 6L6 I have 454VDC. The weird stuff is going on with the plate voltage of preamp tubes. On the closest to the input jack (V 11) I get 258V on pin1 and 207v on 6. On V10 I get 379V on 1 and 270V on 6. On V9 I get 435V (!) on 1 and nothing on 6 (!). V8 has 298v on 1 and 435V on 6 and V7 has about 276 on both plates. This is super strange. Usually high plate voltage means that the tube is not conducting any currant, but V9 has zero voltage on 6 altogether... does anyone has any Idea what might be going on here?
I will try to attach the “similar” schematic...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
frankdrebin

Re: Bugera Trirec infinum - need help with repair.

Post by frankdrebin »

Check out all the resistors connected to anode and cathode of any preamp tube, plus the ones in between every node from the main supply.
Did you change tubes?

Inviato dal mio Redmi 4X utilizzando Tapatalk

frankdrebin

Post by frankdrebin »

Looks like a jcm900 schematic,but your amp should be kind of a boogie recto...

Rockwell666