Hammond AO-63 conversion

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

jmccanna

Hammond AO-63 conversion

Post by jmccanna »

Hello,

I recently acquired a cosmetically damaged but functional Hammond organ with the AO-63 chassis. The amp worked but had a very noticeable hum and motor-boated too. If I recall correctly in messing around with prior to disassembly the reverb did not work either. So, I pulled the amp, preamp and reverb box to see what it needed. Given the condition of the organ I have decided to try to convert this to a guitar amp. I know there are several threads on the Hammond here and reached out to Sluckey via PM because of his very cool GemiHammond project. He kindly replied and suggested I start a new thread here so everyone could participate and learn.

The first thing I noticed was the power cord had generally disintegrated. And I had two very burned resistors to the point they both broke when I tugged on them. I studied the schematic from the service manual and the documents from Sluckey's website too. Near as I can tell, R381 was completely burned through. My reading of the schematic shows that R378/379/380/381 are connected in series with the end of 381 going to C341 and to the reverb rectifier. Perhaps I am wrong because the copy is a bit hard to read.

Anyway, physical examination of the circuits differs. R381 does not appear to be connected to 380 at all. The resistors are mounted in a ladder-like configuration crossways:

R378
R379
R380
R381
jmccanna

Re: Hammond AO-63 conversion

Post by jmccanna »

Wow, hit a button I did expect sorry for the double post. Continuing on:

Anyway, physical examination of the circuits differs. R381 does not appear to be connected to 380 at all. The resistors are mounted in a ladder-like configuration crossways:

R378 <------------ L300
<
R379
>
R380

R381