5e7 build - where to use carbon comp resistors?

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

ginomolinari

5e7 build - where to use carbon comp resistors?

Post by ginomolinari »

Hi everybody I am new to amp building and I have a conundrum I hope Incan get some help with. I have bought a 5e7 chassis from Weber and sourced all the parts myself. I wanted to go the safe route and get all modern compinents untill a friend in the audio business unloaded on me a bunch of VOS parts. Now I am considering using carbon comp resistors sparingly. I have read they should be used only where high current drups occur like plate and phase inverter. Here is my question: i have no idea where these resistors are in the lauout. Could some expert give a hand to this noob?
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I promise lots of pictures.
Thanks
sluckey

Re: 5e7 build - where to use carbon comp resistors?

Post by sluckey »

Fender used carbon comps for every resistor in that amp.
martin manning

Post by martin manning »

ginomolinari

Post by ginomolinari »

Yea that is the article I have read as well. Unfortunately I dont know which resistors are connected to the plate and before and after the PI. Can you point them out for me?
ginomolinari

Post by ginomolinari »

Here is the layout
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ginomolinari

Post by ginomolinari »

Thank you Sluckey. I have seen a build from a member of this forum and he used all carbon comp as well. Not criticizing that choice. I just would love to minimize the use of carbon comp resistors to where the are actually making a difference.
martin manning

Post by martin manning »

Looks like there is exactly one resistor that fits the criteria in RG's article, the 100k on the tube socket (second from the right in the layout sluckey posted). The other candidates are either on input stages or inside the feedback loop.
gingertube

Post by gingertube »