Smallish "Jazz" amp build ideas.

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

thomj513

Smallish "Jazz" amp build ideas.

Post by thomj513 »

New member to this forum but not new to building tube audio products. I’m seeking input, suggestions, schematic ideas etc for building a smallish guitar amp for my personal use. A little background first. I started playing guitar in the mid 1960s, continued on through the 1970s and 1980s in cover bands, original prog/rock bands and “casual” solo guitar and duo gigs through the 1990s. During that time my day job was working for electronic parts distributors of one sort or another so I was able to get most of the parts I needed without any real problems. Most of the builds I did were for home audio, preamps and power amps of one sort or another. From 2000 to 2010 I had some health issues so I didn’t build much. Now, I’m thinking of building again. I’m looking for a simple single-ended amp voiced for a “jazz” guitar tone. No reverb, no tremolo, just straight ahead guitar amp. Thought about buying an old Polytone but there are issues with that make even though they sound great. Your thoughts etc would be appreciated. Thanks in advance, TJ.
martin manning

Re: Smallish "Jazz" amp build ideas.

Post by martin manning »

How big is smallish? 20W?
thomj513

Post by thomj513 »

5-10 watts. Thanks, TJ.
Stevem

Post by Stevem »

Even for just playing at home and with the mellow kinda bottom heavy tone used in jazz, I think output stage wise you would want 15 watts of clean powr.

Now 15 watts then means building with a 6550, KT88 or KT90, and a 15 watt single ended OT will cost some bucks so be prepared to open the wallet wide!
When I die, I want to go like my Grandfather did, peacefully in his sleep.
Not screaming like the passengers in his car!😊

Cutting out a man's tongue does not mean he’s a liar, but it does show that you fear the truth he might speak about you!
martin manning