Rocket build

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

dvbme

Rocket build

Post by dvbme »

Hello, So I'm a new builder started November of 22. I went with Pacific Transformers PAM-PT-30-54R, PAM-OT-30-54R and am stumped at the rectifier. Specifically 2 and 8 should have 5v wires with what I've been seeing and there's none on the PT. What am i missing?
joeboo88

Re: Rocket build

Post by joeboo88 »

I just looked at you PT specs At the Pacific websites and this PT does not have a 5volt tap.
You would have to use SS rectification. Rocket amps have a tube rectifier.
Your OT has a 7.5k primary. Rockets typically use a 4k primary
I imagine your transformer set is more suited to a Liverpool.
I guess you have some decisions to make
Good luck, Joe
gktamps

Post by gktamps »

You could add a 5v filament transformer.
johnny riff

Post by johnny riff »

try a 6v6 qaud.
dvbme

Post by dvbme »

I wanted to go with what was on the BOM but is out of stock. It says to use a 5.2 ohm primary. I want to stay in spec but am open to suggestion. I think selling and rebuying the pair given that it's the last two items i need seems the safest bet. wwyd?
gktamps

Post by gktamps »

Rockets use a 4k3 OT, and the sound changes with 5k2. You'll find a lot of discussion about Rocket transformers on this site; that could be very helpful to you. The Rocket transformer was based on the 4k3 Dynaco A470, but deletes the ultralinear taps.

You can use a larger OT with correct impedance for different tubes, such as 6V6, 6L6, 5881, etc., but again - the sound does change. I built a 5881-tubed version using the last big iron transformer from Toneslut. It sounds great, and very much like a Rocket but with different tonal balance. That build also included a larger power transformer.
dvbme

Post by dvbme »

So I'm going for a a470-s from triode and it seems I'm going to email Heyboer about the HTS-9144.
dvbme

Post by dvbme »