Power transformer fails

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Oddvar R

Power transformer fails

Post by Oddvar R »

I have bought three Weber W022798 power transformers to put in a Dumble 50w ods. The amp itself sounds great, and the transformers works great for a awhile, the it starts blowing fuses. I have tried to search for every possible reason, but the 100w bulb limiter lighst up even when all the secondaries ar disconnected. I have tried to contact Weber, but they never answer anything. Strange that it happens 3 times, works for a while, one month, two months, and the goes the fuse. What can cause a PT to blow fuses. I have done almost anything I can think of, following the advice on robrobinette site on PT failure. I am not an pro amp builder, but I have buildt more than 20 amps that all works great. Anyone shedding a little dimmer bulb light on this?
martin manning

Re: Power transformer fails

Post by martin manning »

What circuit is this 50W built to? Are there any loads on the PT other than the usual high voltage supply and heaters? Do you have a link to the data sheet at Weber?
edit: added Weber data sheet
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by martin manning on Tue Oct 17, 2023 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Stevem

Post by Stevem »

Well your using what's stated as a 40 watt PT for a 50 watt amp you know?

It's too late now, but when the second PT failed and when first installing the 3rd one I would have incerted a amp meter to monitor the B+ draw and if that checked out I would have done the same with the heater current draw and what your actual heater voltage is .

How many preamp tubes do you have in this build and what are you using for output tubes, 6L6GCs?
When I die, I want to go like my Grandfather did, peacefully in his sleep.
Not screaming like the passengers in his car!😊