First Amp Build

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

GuyLonestar

First Amp Build

Post by GuyLonestar »

Newbie here... greetings!

So, I have an old Cerwin Vega D3 cabinet I'd like to make into an amp. It doesn't have to be more than 25w. I'm hoping it can be used for a guitar OR bass, so I'd need to know if that's feasible.

I'd like to keep it as simple as possible. Like, maybe just create a space inside for something like this (link below - MOD 102 DIY Guitar Amplifier Kit, but appropriate power for the speakers). Can it be that simple? Now that I think about it, I guess I could just buy a small head to sit on top of the cabinet? In any case, I need to replace the subwoofer first, as the cabinet is like 35-40 yrs old and the sub has disintegrated. Will that depend on whether I lean toward mostly guitar or bass?

I have a fairly strong technical background, but not with amplifiers. Not afraid to tackle this with with some help.

https://www.amazon.com/MOD-102-DIY-Guit ... F5YZFEVUG6

Thanks in advance!
alnight

Re: First Amp Build

Post by alnight »

Hey, so it sounds like you have an old hi fi speaker you'd like to turn into a guitar amp? While I will not say that can't be done, I would suggest that it might be a poor choice for your first build.

I say this from the perspective of "That's the kind of thing I needed to be warned away from when I started down this rabbit hole, too."

If I may, I would suggest that you start with something fairly simple and well documented. Say, a tweed Champ, or maybe a Deluxe if you're feeling frisky. Get the circuit working in it's natural state first, then use it to experiment with different coupling caps, brands and types of resistors, tubes, and so on. Maybe try some simple mods. This will give you a feel for how the components you choose shape the sound of the amp and give you the knowledge base to go forth and build more interesting stuff in the future.