Champ for Bass? - yes you read that right.

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

holio cornolio

Champ for Bass? - yes you read that right.

Post by holio cornolio »

OK I'm a complete noob so I'm prepared to accept that I'm about to jump in way out of my depth, but here goes: I have a Fender Champ style amp which I built from a Torres kit, and the other day I was tooling about with my P Bass, and getting some very nice sounds out of the Champ. OK, it was clear that the speaker was struggling very hard to keep up, but I found that by riding the P's volume and tone controls (and with the vol on the champ at 12 o'clock - it has no tone stack) I could get all the sounds that I need from SVT style grind, to a nice motowny thump. It's such a simple amp that it seems that you get the true voice of the guitar you're playing. So, I'm thinking, how would I go about building something that could handle the demands of a bass, full time, but with the simplicity of the champ circuit? I'm guessing that simply bolting 4 12ax7s and 4 6v6s into a circuit isn't going to do the trick. Where do I start? Help of all sorts gratefully received.
Structo

Re: Champ for Bass? - yes you read that right.

Post by Structo »

Well of course the speaker is the main issue.

The bass frequencies cause quite a bit of cone excursion so you should probably use at least a 12'' or 15" bass speaker.

I'm not sure I understand what you are aiming for?

But you should probably try to build a bass amp.

There is more than just the tone stack that makes up a bass amp.
Everything is designed around the bass frequencies.

Also most bass amps that are used to gig with have a LOT of power.
Usually in the 200-300 watt range since it takes more power to make the bass be able to keep up with even a 50 watt guitar amp.
Tom

Don't let that smoke out!
holio cornolio

Post by holio cornolio »