Music to work to

Non-tube amp discussion to discuss music, girls, life, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

guitarmike2107

Music to work to

Post by guitarmike2107 »

Hi Guys, since working for myself I have been listening to allot of online radio stations, just wondering if there are any recommended stations to look up. not too much talk and if it was genre specific that would be even better. I have a hard rock station I listen too ocassionally (kerrang), but then resort to Youtube for most southern rock/country style stuff...

needless to say no modern pop stations are required
sliberty

Re: Music to work to

Post by sliberty »

If you use one of the streaming services, like Spotify or Pandora, you can create your own station, based upon a song of group you like. So if southern rock is what you want, you could create a station based upon Statesboro Blues for example.
Gibsonman63

Post by Gibsonman63 »

+1 on Pandora. I have a paid subscription so it is commercial free.

Some things it just doesn't get. I set up a Kansas station. Unfortunately, they only seem to have one Kansas song. I was expecting it to play other bands like Emmerson, Lake and Palmer, King Crimson, Yes and others in the genre. What I got was Sweet Home Alabama and Freebird.

My Brian Setzer station is spot on. My Brazillian Jazz station is pretty good, but over plays "The Girl From Ipanema". My Phsycho-billy station is very good, not too much repetition. I have a Robert Cray station that plays amazing stuff.

I would think that southern rock would be ok on Pandora once you get it to stop playing Freebird, like it was 1979.
guitarmike2107

Post by guitarmike2107 »

Ok I will have a look at those, I used groovshark before but found I was only playing songs I knew, Where I am looking for some songs I know but some new stuff too would be ideal
John_P_WI

Post by John_P_WI »