We need to relearn listening and get Hifi back in our lifes!

Non-tube amp discussion to discuss music, girls, life, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

bluesfendermanblues

We need to relearn listening and get Hifi back in our lifes!

Post by bluesfendermanblues »

Like the rest of you guys at this forum, I'm an experienced DIY builder of pedals, amp, speakers etc. I've done this on and off since I was a kid and my dad and grand dad inspired me with Hifi magazines and old tube amp books from back in the day and fueled my interest in music and gear.

However, in spite of a lot experience in building gear and having recorded bands (including my own), when I really started to listen to my guitar sound/tone on the Home recordings, I found it to be kind of compressed and uninspiring. I had arrived at spot where heavy strings and hard picking attack was supposed to create a strong tone. Horse power baby!

So I began a journey investigating what good tone is (for me) and arrived at Robben Ford's great dynamic tone as a reference point for good tone. This got me into diy Dumble amps....and a great disappointment, when I completed my first high plate skyliner back in 2008 - it sounded nothing like Robben Ford and was stiff and sterile, but after having tried all mods on this forum, the amp was finally 'played in' and I discovered along the way that these amps are supposed to be played dynamically with a combination of solid and gentle strokes like robben does - in order to create the 'bloom'. (I think he must be inspired by another west coast musician - Gary Mulligan - who also is a master of alternating between soft and hard blows/strokes). So building these amps made me a more conscious (and I believe a better) player in terms of playing with much more picking dynamic.

One other of the things I had missed in all these years, was in fact - believe it or not - LISTENING. That is conscious listening.