Sabotage?

Non-tube amp discussion to discuss music, girls, life, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

maxkracht

Sabotage?

Post by maxkracht »

I have been repairing amps for a guy for a few months. He originally wanted me to work on one specific amp, but kept dropping off other things instead. I believe the first time he did this he said something to the effect of, “I want you to fix a few other things before I scare you away with this one.” He keeps hyping up how incredibly difficult this amp will be to fix and how complicated it looks. Also, he doesn’t understand how his previous tech screwed it up so badly. The one he presumably “scared away”. This guy has been incredibly rude on almost every interaction I have had with him, so I assumed the last guy just didn’t want to deal with him anymore. I have been trying to give him the benefit of the doubt, assuming he has just had a rough year or something, but I was planning to tell him to find someone else after I finish the work I had already promised.

I finally get the amp he originally wanted to be fixed. Open it up, and there is a plastic bag inside the chassis. Three resistors inside, carefully labeled with the resistance and wattage written on the outside of the bag. The resistors correspond to three blank spots on the PCB. I’m guessing the last tech didn’t want to make my job any harder than it needed to be. No Idea what I should tell the client. Kinda want to find his last tech and ask what this dude did to him.

(Trying to avoid giving too many details, I don't want to offend anyone or rat out the other tech if the grumpy man finds this post...)
gktamps

Re: Sabotage?

Post by gktamps »

Trust your instincts.
What would you advise if you were reading your post, by another?
dorrisant

Post by dorrisant »

Former tech is setting you up.
"Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned" - Enzo
maxkracht

Post by maxkracht »