Bassman head circuit identification

Fender Amp Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

tremblaylive

Bassman head circuit identification

Post by tremblaylive »

Hi guys,

I've recently acquired a Fender Bassman head, but the sticker inside the chassis has taken quite a beating (and even so, i've seen multiple sources mention that they are sometimes inaccurate)

I want to identify which circuit I have, and was wondering what the key things I should look for are?

Things of note: The tolex is black, knobs are not original (chicken heads), there are 6 tubes total (so I guess this isn't a tube-rectified model?), there is a presence control on the front panel.
It hasn't been recapped (so I guess that's the first thing I should be looking to do... Would the caps be useful for identification purposes, or are they always the same?)

Based on what I have read online, I may have a 6G6-B, but i'm really no expert.

Also, what kind of speaker setup would you suggest? Currently on the lookout for a cab for this bad boy 8)

Thanks!
tubeswell

Re: Bassman head circuit identification

Post by tubeswell »

Need pictures and serial numbers.
Last edited by tubeswell on Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
He who dies with the most tubes... wins
martin manning

Post by martin manning »

6G6-A and -B are blonde, but there are exceptions. See here: http://www.thevintagesound.com/ffg/
tremblaylive

Post by tremblaylive »

I will try to post pictures when I can open it up again.

Is there anything in particular I should be photographing that is a "dead giveaway"?

Also, for a speaker cab -- would a 1x12 cab with a Tone Tubby Alnico Red 50w 8 ohm speaker stand up to the abuse of the bassman? (Assuming its volume will likely never go higher than 7-8)

Thanks!
tremblaylive

Post by tremblaylive »