Gretsch G5222 Champ 5F1 conversion

Fender Amp Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

smuc

Gretsch G5222 Champ 5F1 conversion

Post by smuc »

Hi folks,

Seems I've been bitten by a Tube bug as it seems I cannot stop making more tube amps for fun :roll:

After a 18W plexi, a 6V6 Bassman and a Tweed Champ it's time for an another Champ. The last one I made sounded amazing and I was kind of sorry to have sold it. I even got my hands on the 57 Champ reissue from Fender and I still feel that my build sounded a bit better. Now... a few weeks back I got a Gretsch G5222 as a trade in and it sounded like crap and hummed like nobody's business. After a few evenings of planning the build, I decided to rebuild the thing to 5F1 with true point to point with solder lugs. I have never done it before and truth be told I was a bit lazy to make my own turretboard that would fit into the chassis.

Anyway, I finished the build within a few days and am happy with the results. Maybe the gain of the first stage is a bit weak but I intentionally skipped the cathode bypass since it sounded better like that in my previous build (and I use the 12AX7 instead of the AY. I'll give it a second chance this weekend with this one and see how it works. Also, as I used the transformers from the Gretsch, rectifier is solid state. I planned a tube sag resistor but whichever value I tried it always sounded best without it.

Anyway, here's a quick and dirty video of the thing. The gutshots will follow soon...

P.S. it has a Jensen 8' speaker in ;)

dbharris

Re: Gretsch G5222 Champ 5F1 conversion

Post by dbharris »

Sounds great! Really nice edge of breakup tone.

-Dan
thetragichero

Post by thetragichero »

tried to snag one of these cheap to do something similar but the seller wouldn't bite
there's something about a simple 12ax7 single-ended amp that is just perfect. I've been using my 6l6g vibrochamp build with 10" speaker for the majority of my recording, save the super heavy chuggy stuff