Want to build AA1164D circuit need advice

Fender Amp Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

mford

Want to build AA1164D circuit need advice

Post by mford »

I am just learning about tube amps and would like to build a Princeton AA1164 circuit. I have some transformers from a Hammond organ from 1968 and an old RCA radio from 1939. Should I sell these trannies and use the money toward a kit build?
TUBEDUDE

Re: Want to build AA1164D circuit need advice

Post by TUBEDUDE »

Do you have any soldering experience?
Tube junkie that aspires to become a tri-state bidirectional buss driver.
Stevem

Post by Stevem »

You should save up and by a Champ type kit from one of the many suppliers who have them as a start.
When I die, I want to go like my Grandfather did, peacefully in his sleep.
Not screaming like the passengers in his car!😊

Cutting out a man's tongue does not mean he’s a liar, but it does show that you fear the truth he might speak about you!
mford

Post by mford »

Yes I have soldering experience, and a rudimentary understanding of tube amps, but I don't have all the electronic test equipment. I have done commercial and residential electrical work for many years and have an ohm meter. Other than that I am just getting in to this as a hobby in my retired years. It seems very difficult to get good responses from people on these forums. Everyone seems to think you need to be beyond the beginner stage, but you have to start somewhere, and that is when you really need help. If I buy a kit amp, do I really get an understanding of what is happening in tube amps, or just have a paint buy numbers experience. I really need to know how to use old transformers from vintage equipment, so I know what kind of circuit I should look for.
sluckey

Post by sluckey »

I really need to know how to use old transformers from vintage equipment, so I know what kind of circuit I should look for.