hotrod deluxe 4 footswitch jack socket

Fender Amp Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

CluelessDude

hotrod deluxe 4 footswitch jack socket

Post by CluelessDude »

Hey guys! I'm new to this and I don't have much experience past knowing how to solder, so please bear with me. I have a 6 month old hotrod deluxe IV that I'm having a channel switching problem with. I don't believe it's the typical switching problems these amps have from having parts of the PCB board get too hot. Whenever the footswitch cord is unplugged the amp goes straight to the drive channel with the "more drive" function stuck on. I am unable to switch out of this with the hand switching controls. When I plug the footswitch cord in it stays this way unless I take the back cover off the amp and push on the footswitch jack socket just right. If i get it just right, I am then able to switch between both channels and having the more drive feature on or off with the footswitch. When I unplug the footswitch jack from the socket and try pushing on the empty socket I haven't been able to get it to let me switch channels with the hand controls. The board looks brand spanking new in all respects. nothing looks brown or charred. Could it be a bad jack socket from leaving the foot switch plugged in or something? I ordered a replacement jack socket and I am going to replace it. It just seems so new to have any issues at all. It stays in my home studio and has never been gigged. Bought brand new. I live about 5 hours from the nearest amp repair place, so it would be ideal to try and fix it myself. Any experience with similar issues? Words of advice? Thank you!
pdf64

Re: hotrod deluxe 4 footswitch jack socket

Post by pdf64 »

Why not a repair under warranty?
You’ll be voiding it by doing this yourself.
Reeltarded

Post by Reeltarded »