Fender 400 PS, now on the bench. Know anything about this?

Fender Amp Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Matthews Guitars

Fender 400 PS, now on the bench. Know anything about this?

Post by Matthews Guitars »

I've acquired the monster, the beast, the highest output production bass/guitar tube amp of all time, the mighty 435 watt Fender 400PS.

Who here has any experience with these? I may have some questions and it's efficient to ask experienced people who can shorten my path
to learning.

First off, I'm an experienced amp tech and quite careful around plate voltages. The 400 PS offers a healthy 700 volts of technician killing plate voltage,
so just be aware, I'm not some inexperienced noob with no business in a tube guitar amp!

The amp in question was rebuilt but not taken to completion by my now dead friend and local amp guru. He almost got finished with it, and then abandoned it,
and it's been quite a few years since then.

Courtesy of his work, the wiring job in the amp is WAY neater than they ever were when they came off the Fender production line.

I've safely powered it up on my Powerstat variac, and while I don't yet have a working audio signal path, it didn't blow fuses, throw sparks, catch fire, or
do anything untoward except that it did try to roast the 680 ohm 3 watt resistor on the 6L6 tube that functions as the driver for the six 6550 output tubes,
so maybe that's a 6550 that has a short condition that doesn't show up on my tube tester. No problem, I'll just swap out that pair of tubes and try a different pair.

The way this is constructed, it runs as three pairs of 6550 output tubes, each of which is in standby UNLESS their appropriate dedicated output jack has a speaker jack
plugged into it. So it's actually safe to run it with no speakers connected as the switching jacks will keep the unloaded tubes in standby.