JTM45 build. Authentic Tone!

Marshall Amp Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

MHProd

JTM45 build. Authentic Tone!

Post by MHProd »

DISCLAIMER: The way I hear is different from yours! The following is simply a compilation of suggestions based on my experience. Let’s remember that no matter how many details are shared, it will never account for the totality of unspecified factors (guitars, pickups, cabs, tubes, settings, speakers, etc…) around what constitutes “tone”. After a few years of building amps as a Sunday afternoon hobbyist, I really believe in taking the time to TRY things out for yourself when it comes to anything guitar related.

OK guys, here are the results of many, many hours of A/B’ing a JTM45 clone to 3 original specimens I am very lucky to own. For a few years now, I tried to recreate the tonal characteristics of the original amps into a clone and trust me, it was a rather frustrating experience. However, I am now confident the mods I made to the clone bring the modern reproduction of this amp into the same ballpark as the originals. I decided to call the mods “Ballbreaker specs”.

Background: Since 2008, I’ve been the owner of 3 beautiful original JTM45s. A ’64 coffin logo/split front, a ’65 block logo and a ’66 script logo. The 65 and 66 sound very much alike. The 64 has the RS Deluxe OT where the low medium and medium response is a bit more scooped than the 2 others which have OTs made by Drake. All 3 are set up the exact same way (component value, close inspection did not reveal any significant drift) and all have NOS glass. After talking to many different people and making a lot of research, I was able to confirm all 3 amps are genuine and original amps made by Marshall and none of them are lash ups from the British amp mafia (most coffin and block logos often seen for sale are fakes made from ‘donor’ amps. Be very careful should you consider buying one. The “Bluesbreaker” and 18 watt combos are even worse.)