#34 mod sounds awful...

Marshall Amp Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

alfi27

#34 mod sounds awful...

Post by alfi27 »

Hey guys,

I recently started accepting other people's amps for modding, after working on my own for a few years. My first job was a '77 JMP with a Friedman style mod not too long ago, and I also did a Vintage Modern for the same guy quite recently. Yesterday I got a 2203x in for a #34 mod, which is a mod I have never done in its entirety before, but as I had the official schematic posted by Santiago on hand I expected it to be piece of cake - well, as you might have guessed, it wasn't. I played it for a bit before I got started so I knew what the starting point was, and it sounded absolutely killer - made me wonder why he wanted me to mess with it in the first place. Then I did the mod (see the schematic attached, only difference is 0.68uF presence), and my Les Paul with treble and presence at zero sounded like a Strat bridge single coil into a stock JCM800 with a treble booster pedal and treble and presence on 10... At first I tried to avoid the hot shield by using a 50pF between grid and plate, that sounded really meh and actually not bright enough - I removed it and installed an actual hot shield, and that's when things got stupid bright. The input cable is a 12" coaxial, which I understand is longer than what is recommended, but even with that length I didn't hear a massive difference between the hot shield being connected and disconnected.