Early rev A 2550 replacement caps

Marshall Amp Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Fantomaz

Early rev A 2550 replacement caps

Post by Fantomaz »

Hi guys,

My original 1987 early serial rev A Marshall 2550 silver jubilee keeps on blowing the 2 amp fuse.

I suspect the original 1987 LCR caps to be the culprits, but these aren't made anymore.

I have little technical knowledge, basically I know how to discharge caps, solder stuff, rebias but not much more.

The amp is 100% original, sounds stupidly good, has been gigged/recorded quite a bit.

There is no tech for 200 miles around where I live.

What do you think?

Should I replace them? with what?

Thanks in advance!
2550 caps.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
xtian

Re: Early rev A 2550 replacement caps

Post by xtian »

Those caps are dated 1987--36 years old! Definitely replace, along with the very important bias capacitors. Be aware there can be other reasons an amp draws too much current and blows fuses. Do fuses blow immediately when you flip power switch? Or after warming up/throwing standby switch?

For the filter caps, I prefer F&T and JJ cap cans, like these: https://www.tubesandmore.com/products/c ... c3110a3205

There may be other things that need to be replaced, like the B+ dropping resistors. Let's see some photos of the circuit.
I build and repair tube amps. http://amps.monkeymatic.com
Fantomaz

Post by Fantomaz »

Thanks for your reply!

I dont have the pics with me, but last time I took the chassis out I had a good look at the whole circuit and everything looked absolutely stock.

The only thing I ever did to the amp is replacing worn out output tubes by the same svetlana EL 34 that came in it when I got it 20 years ago and biasing to around 35mv then by ear. I also switched a microphonic preamp tube but other than that I am pretty sure the amp is exactly as it came out of the factory.